DORE', GUSTAVE (1832-83)

   Gustave Doré was born in 1833 in Strassbourg, France, the son of an engineer. By the age of fifteen, Doré was already a famous draughtsman.
   In a short time, he developed into the most talented and prolific illustrators ever born.
   He was a self-taught man whose style and technique have been a great influence in the development of book illustrations. At the time of his work, painted pictures had to be engraved in wood, the engraving inked and rolled to produce the illustration. In contrast to other artists of the era, Doré directly placed his drawings on the log of wood, which was stabbed by one of the 40 graphic helpers who supported him in the course of years.
   Doré became very widely known for his illustrations to such books as Dante's Inferno (1861), Don Quixote (1862), and the Bible (1866).
   In spite of his success as an illustrator, he dreamed of being a painter. Although he started painting after 1870, his paintings compared with his illustrations are of less importance. He was also a sculpturer.
   He lived for his work. Even though he was seen with several actresses and singers, he never married. He died in 1883.

Yniol Shows Prince Geraint His Ruined Castle
Enid and the Countess
Edyrn with his Lady and Dwarf Journey to Arthur's Court
Geraint Charges the Bandits
Geraint and Enid in the Meadow
The Flight of the Boon Companions of Earl Limours
Enid Tends Geraint
Geraint Slays Earl Doorm
Geraint and Enid Ride Away
Vivien and Merlin Repose
Vivien and Merlin Disembark
Vivien and Merlin Enter the Woods
The Knights Carouse
The Knights Progress
Merlin Paints the Young Knight's Shield
The Sea Fight
The Cave Scene
Vivien Encloses Merlin in the Tree
Arthur Discovers the Skeletons of the Brothers
Lancelot Approaching the Castle of Astolat
Lancelot Relating his Adventures
Lancelot Bids Adieu to Elaine
Elaine on the Road to the Cave of Lancelot
Torre and Lavaine Bid Farewell to the Body of Elaine
The Body of Elaine on its Way to Camelot
King Arthur Reading the Letter of Elaine
The Remorse of Lancelot
The Parting
The Midnight Ride
Cloister Scene
Terrace Scene
The Joyous Spirits
The Fairy Circle
The Finding of King Arthur
The Dawn of Love
The King's Farewell